The 2017 Daimler Supplier Award has its new owners


High-ranking representatives of the most important Daimler suppliers and Daimler management met at the Mercedes-Benz Customer Center in Sindelfingen on 28 February 2018. The 10-year anniversary of the Daimler Supplier Awards was celebrated by those gathered there.

It was obvious right when you entered: Something special was awaiting the guests that evening. The 650 attendees reached the sought-after seats on the gallery through a long black tunnel with impressions on the walls from 9 years of the Daimler Supplier Award. “Enter the next chapter” is the motto that embodies the spirit with which Daimler invited its strategic partners and key suppliers, the most important suppliers, to Sindelfingen this anniversary year. A new chapter? Daimler made that clear everywhere: the stage more like a living room; the guests in their places in a gallery; a redesigned trophy for the winners; and also more relaxed and modern music and cuisine.

And I am confident that we will manage the transformation of Daimler AG successfully, because we have you at our side as Partners!

Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Chairman of the Board of Management of Daimler AG and Head of Mercedes-Benz Cars

Right from the beginning, the program also promised that nothing today would be like the years before. With musical accompaniment from the Daimler big band, hosts Judith Rakers and Dieter Zetsche drove into the semicircle of the audience area together in a Mercedes-Benz A-Class.

On the stage, Zetsche made it clear with the new format (a question-answer session with the audience) that the culture change at Daimler was in full swing.

The ceremonial award formed the highlight of the evening. Ten Daimler AG suppliers who impressed the company with their extraordinary achievements in the categories of Innovation, Partnership and Quality were delighted by the almost 2 kg aluminum trophy.

Daimler Supplier Awards - Nominees

The  awards were handed out by the heads of the three purchasing divisions, Andreas Burkhart, Marcus Schoenenberg and Klaus Zehender, along with members of the Board of Management, Wilfried Porth and Martin Daum. Ola Källenius, Management Board Member for Group Research & Mercedes-Benz Cars Development, presented the Special Award for especially innovative achievements.

The new company culture was also reflected in the anniversary-year get-together: In a relaxed street-life atmosphere, attendees met at the standing tables to network and discuss the future trends in the industry. And because shared successes should be celebrated, the guests celebrated into the evening at the after-show party in the lounge of the customer center.